Make or Break You: Office Day

DSCF5086

Researchers would compare dorsal fin of organisms and compare them to an existing database.

I have determined that the part of research that could either make or break a person is the inputting of data, checking/reviewing the data, filing, and identification. Every mistake whether it is spelling or incorrect coordinate has to be checked, double checked and triple checked before it is finalized for the database. So all of the forms from the field that we filled out yesterday for the dolphins we encountered and the manatee I inputted today. Once that was completed, we went through old forms and double checked them. The final thing that we did was identification of marine mammals. There are images taken that need to be compared to the current catalog. This is done to see if there are recurrences of certain groups of individuals within an area. This is BMMRO’s main focus to study and document the “occurrence distribution and abundance of marine mammals in the Bahamas to contribute towards the conservation of these species both locally and globally” (BMMRO)

The images that are taken on a daily basis are compared to what is existing within the database. Each single image is compared to every nick or scar on the fin. If there are any differences between an old image and its updated version, we chose the best image and use that for the catalog. When researchers document large amounts of animals, they tend to give them numbers. For example, we saw Bb47 out in the bush by Mrs. Gerber’s house. Office days tend to last till around 1700. I believe we did 6 hours.

DSCF5115

This little puppy from the neighbors had to be taken to the vet for hook worm 😦 Such a highlight for a great day.

Before we began our office work, Dr. Claridge went through a brief powerpoint about the facility and what their goals and mission are. What I enjoy most about her is that she is not afraid to answer my questions. Throughout the presentation I asked questions and she answered them all. I found out several things that particularly stood out to me. There are roughly 24 marine mammals species found in the channels of our country. There is a common misconception that even though we have shallow waters, we have many channels that are deep enough to harbour mammals as large as sperm whales. Yes, sperm whales.

DSCF5116

The doggie was following me around and wouldn’t let me get my things together. Took the puppy out to Jack to distract.

The largest channel, the Tongue of the Ocean, is deeper than the Grand Canyon. There are several cetacean species that live and travel through this part of our ocean.

At the end, the rest of the day was ours to do as we wish. Jurique walked me down to the shop  to make sure I reach safe and the dogs at the station walked me back home. I met one of my cousins who frequents Nassau. She is lives here in Sandy Point. Apparently, and even my aunts on my mother side say this, I look just like my daddy’s mum. Even the lady at the shop wondered where I was from. When I told her who my father was, her eyes went large and she smiled.

“Father’s daughter 🙂 ”

I enjoyed my time alone today. I went for a dip in the sea, did some chores and began typing this blog up. It was very eventful for myself. Tomorrow is an all day sea day. I am making sure this time to pack my hat and borrow the polarized sunglasses from my colleague.

DSCF5122

I found this on our washer. I whole heartedly agree with this!

Leave a Reply

